IND vs ENG: Rohit Sharma loses first match as permanent captain, misses out on world record



Rohit Sharma’s winning streak as T20I captain ends, narrowly misses out on world record

Team India skipper Rohit Sharma narrowly missed out on Ricky Ponting’s world record of most successive wins as captain (20), after the Men in Blue were defeated by England in the third T20I at Trent Bridge on Sunday. 

The ‘Hitman’, since taking over as permanent captain from Virat Kohli was undefeated in 19 consecutive games, however, India’s 17-run defeat in the final match of the T20I series saw an end to that spectacular run. 

Also, Rohit had won 14 back-to-back games in the T20I format as captain, but his winning streak also came to an end. 

READ| ‘Thank you Virat Kohli for sledging Suryakumar Yadav’: Twitter in overdrive after SKY’s ton

Meanwhile talking about the match, India lost the third and final game of the series by 17 runs as they fell agonizingly short of the required total of 216 runs.

Suryakumar Yadav led the way for the Men in Blue with his 55-ball 117-run knock, but despite SKY’s best efforts, Rohit Sharma’s men tasted defeat but they celebrated winning the T20I series 2-1.

Dawid Malan made a sublime 77 off 39 balls as England put India’s second-string attack to the sword to finish with a mammoth 215 for seven.

Suryakumar (117 off 55 balls) kept India in the hunt with his classy effort but lacked support from other batters while chasing the huge target. India’s innings ended at 198 for nine in 20 overs.

India sealed the three-match series 2-1, having won in Southampton and Birmingham.

With inputs from PTI

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here