Tripura byelection: BJP wins three out of four seats | Agartala News – Times of India


Picture used for representational purpose only

GUWAHATI: The BJP won three out of the four assembly seats, while Congress bagged one in the Tripura by-elections, results of which were declared on Sunday.
Chief minister Manik Saha registered victory from the Town Bardowali constituency by a margin of 6,104 votes. Manik Saha defeated his closest rival, Congress candidate Asish Kumar Saha. The chief minister secured 17,181 votes.
CM Saha said his victory was expected. “I thought the margin would be too much,” he said. Saha also accused the Congress of being hand in glove with the CPM. On Roy Barman’s victory, Saha alleged that, apparently, Congress won from one seat mainly due to CPM backing.
“In democracy it is expected. I congratulate him (Roy Barman). But apparently, there is some understanding between the Congress and CPM. They (CPM) transferred their votes to the Congress,” Saha said.
BJP’s Swapna Das (Paul) won from the Surma (SC) defeating Independent candidate Baburam Satnami by a margin of 4,583 votes. Swapna secured 16,677 votes.
BJP nominee Malina Debnath won from Jubarajnagar, which had been a bastion of the CPM, by a margin of 4,572 votes. CPM’s Shailendra Chandra Nath had to settle with 14,197 votes in Jubarajnagar, while Malina got 18,769 votes.
Sudip Roy Barman came as the face saver for Congress. He won from the Agartala seat by a margin of 3,163 votes and secured 17,431 votes. Roy Barman defeated his closest rival Ashok Sinha of the BJP. Roy Barman’s victory is significant for the Congress which was routed in the last assembly election.
Roy Barman, on the other hand, said that his victory reflects the “people’s anger, BJP’s jumla and people’s mandate in the coming days”.


FacebookTwitterInstagramKOO APPYOUTUBE

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here